aaguiar's blog

Ch. 1 - 4, The Art of Gathering

After reading the first four chapters of Priya Parker's book, my perspective of what gatherings can be has changed. I wasn't sure what to expect coming into it because, despite the title, I thought the book would be about something else. It was oddly refreshing to read her points and examples.

From what I've learned so far, every gathering should contain a purpose, specificity and uniqueness. Now as a host, this means I have to put extra thought into the process of getting people together. When it comes to things like this, I overthink about the details. The parties and gatherings I've thrown have always put some special kind of stress on me because of my inclination to please everyone, though now I realize that it doesn't have to be like that because it could sacrifice my overall purpose.

Parker's idea of hosting with generous authority also shook my meaning of what a good host is. A gathering needs structure, and I've run into my fair share of events that have a host with an 'anything goes' mentality. It's not actually bad, but depending on what your goal is then you as a host should take the reins and guide. I've been thinking about what this means for me going forward because I don't want to be bossy, but I do want to be respected if I impose certain boundaries/rules for a gathering. A lot of times I'll go in the direction of what the guest wants, but now I see how this can be detrimental to my vision. If you're trying to create a memorable world for your guests, then the guest should be the one to follow and take in your experience.

In my head this plays out like a theme park, where you're paying for the attractions/rides that the park has set up. Of course people will have their opinions, and sometimes it's useful to take in their advice, but ultimately you are the host. Use their advice to improve your next gathering, keeping in mind that you're the one creating the experience and have your own wants and needs to execute.

If you're stuck on what to do for that next party or job meeting, I'd recommend this book. Personally I know a few people that might like it, since you can benefit from Parker's ideas in your personal and professional life.